Recommendation for a camera around 1000$

fotkar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I am pretty new to photography and would like to ask you experts for help.

I want to buy a camera and a lens (small 18-55) in the 1000$ range. Later on I would add additional bigger lens.

I am for the moment looking only at DSLR market as I do not have experience with mirroless. If you think you have sound advice also for mirroless please ad it in your suggestions.

I would also like to ask you what are VR lenses?

Just to give you also some additional info:
1. Currently I am using my Galaxy S8 phone cam for all my pics. Some time ago I bought Canon G7 but now it is completely outdated.

2. I have solid skills with DSLR cameras but they are still from before digital age.

3. I intend to use this camera for all more serious picture taking instead of my phone camera.

I am also not aware how to usefully user advance functions of new cameras like Wifi, bluetooth etc. What of this is really important?

At that price point, my choice would be the Nikon D7200. It is a crop sensor camera but has one of the best sensors around. Unless you just really want the Wifi/Bluetooth etc., I don't think it is that big a deal. It has been added to a lot of cameras to capture the I-phone crowd. The D7200 kits now seem to come with the 18-140 mm Nikkor lens. This is the lens I use about 80% of the time. It is much better than the kit 18-55 mm and has a lot more range. There are some refurbished kits around that are close to $1,000. List price is a little over $1,200.

I am also not aware how to usefully user advance functions of new cameras like Wifi, bluetooth etc. What of this is really important?