Reloading half used film

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by jcrutcher, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. jcrutcher

    jcrutcher TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to shoot 10 frames of a 36 roll, rewind it and re-install the roll, advance to #11 or #12 frame without problems?

    I have a Leica M6

    Thank you for any help you can offer.

    Jim
     
  2. compur

    compur No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    L.A.
    Yes. Just do what you said (with lens cap on, of course) and do it gently.

    Without problems? Can't guarantee that but it usually works OK for me.
     
  3. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I always skip a frame just to make sure there's no overlap.

    Obviously, you'll want to leave the leader out when you rewind it...

    And I usually mark on the leader or canister what frame it was on so I remember.
     
  4. jcrutcher

    jcrutcher TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys I'll give it a try.

    Jim
     
  5. djacobox372

    djacobox372 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,925
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    i do that all the time, the only tricky thing is to not rewind the film too far, and u should always skip a frame
     
  6. compur

    compur No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    L.A.
    I believe the APS cameras can do this automatically. They remember which
    frame was last shot on which roll and advance ahead to the correct frame
    when the film is re-inserted. I've never used an APS camera myself but that's
    what I've been told.
     
  7. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    ^^^
    Yes, that's true.

    I have a Canon Elph (APS) .... you can rewind whenever you want, re-insert and it automatically goes back to the next frame.

    There is even a rotating thing on the bottom of the canister that shows if the roll is new, partially exposed, fully exposed, or developed. (The negs stay in the canister after developing.)


    ----
    edit

    ...I haven't used that camera in years. I still have a few APS cartridges somewhere in the back of my fridge... I guess I should go ahead and shoot it while processing is still available, lol. I seem to remember that APS is way more expensive than 35mm though... And it smaller...

    The camera is literally the size of a cigarette pack though - pretty small for a film camera.


    LOL - I just checked, and I have 3 rolls that need to be developed ... no telling how old the pictures on them are...
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  8. Mike_E

    Mike_E No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,327
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    The Upper West Side of Mississippi (you have no i
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Nikon N90s have a data back which will allow you to program the camera to leave the leader out when rewinding.

    I also have an 8008 that is this way. Pretty handy!
     
  9. PJL

    PJL TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    ^ My Elan 7 has a custom function mode that does the same thing.
     
  10. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I think pretty much any modern SLR will have a custom function that lets you leave the leader out upon rewind. Every one I've used has had it...

    That's really the only reason I keep a sharpie in my bag - in case I rewind a roll and need to write the frame number on it.


    Back when I was getting my film developed at 1 hour labs, I used to keep the leader out all the time. They usually just extract the leader instead of taking the canister apart... Figured I would save them a step.
     
  11. usayit

    usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    9,523
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    North New Jersey, United States of America
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Same on the 1 series film camera and my Elan IIe.

    Using a film extractor is pretty easy too...




    On the M6, you can feel when the take up spool releases the negative..



    Funny, you should mention APS film. I actually used to own a Canon IX lite. OMG, what in the world was I thinking?
     
  12. bhop

    bhop No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I did it with my m6 a few rolls back and it worked out perfectly. There was a dent in the film from the winding fork that helped me get it started in the same spot..hopefully you'll know what I mean as a fellow m6 owner.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
half used film
,
how to reload 35mm film
,
how to reload film
,
how to reload film after it has rewound
,
how to shoot reload film camers
,
is it possible to reload used film
,
reload film
,
reload film camera
,

reloading film

,
reloading film camera