SB flashes

dearlybeloved

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
with these series gradually getting more and more expensive, what is the real differences between these?

sb600-900 is what im looking at but not really sure what id benefit from as im not a professional but love doing it as a hobby.

I think the SB600 is out of date, and has been replaced by the SB700.

One big difference is power. The SB900 outputs more power than the SB700. You may not need that extra power all the time, but when you do, it's nice to have it available. When talking about a flash and how much power it outputs, it translates to distance. A more powerful flash will 'reach' further. This usually isn't a issue when shooting the flash straight forward, but when you're bouncing the flash off of walls and ceiling, it really helps.

Another case for more power, is shooting outdoors where you might want to 'compete with' the sunlight. In these situations, you would probably need every bit of power your flash can muster.

There are also other features that are only available on the higher end flash units. I'm not all that familiar with the Nikon line-up, but I'm sure others can chime in on that.

Just have to go over the features list to see if the diffrences will be important for what you will use it for. One thing I can say is they hold up. I have managed to drop my SB-900 twice from 5' onto concrete and about 3 times with the lightstand falling and crashing to the ground, hard enough to destroy a reciever and mine is still working great.

Power, zoom, commander, optical slave.