Shall I invest in new or repair the old?

judipurple

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
And, by old, I mean the D3100 is 4 years plus...

The kit lens (AF-P DX NIKKOR18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ) is a bit wonky - the part of the lens that glides in and out (when zooming) is wobbly - it seems to be in focus when on auto. But, my thoughts are to bring the body and the two kit lens (there's a 200mm zoom also) in to the camera shop for a cleaning and tuneup. I thought to ask the shop their opinion on upgrading...then *zing* - my brain kicked into gear and realized that their main focus (pardon the pun) is to get customers to spend $$. The gear I have is good, and I have taken some really good shots with it (not fantastic - I am still learning how to use the beast).

Now - there is part of me willing to part with $$ for a new camera and lens. Particularly a wide angle lens...and a 300mm zoom. And here is why:

In the summer of 2018, I will be spending a week in Alaska, at a bed-n-breakfast a friend's uncle owns, deep in the heart of the AK "outback". Then the following year, I will be getting married in October, and we are planning our honeymoon in AZ and Utah...4WD over rough roads to spectacular overlooks, cliffs, and wild locales. Look up images for Toroweap...Paria Mtn...Marble Canyon...various spots in Sedona....oh, I am drooling at the chance to get pix at these and other locations. Wide angle lenses are a must, IMHO, and a good zoom to capture wildlife.

I am not wealthy by any means, and these trips will put a major dent in my savings. But - I am also depleting my credit card debt between now and then, so spending extra on either a new setup or a couple new (fairly decent) lenses could be done without a visit to the poor house.

Soooooo....my queries are: Buy new or repair/update old? And any suggestions for setups for about $1000 or less? Or, the lens that would work with my little 3100?