Software needed for RAW

Robbie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What software do I need to properly convert and enhance RAW files ?

I've never used RAW before, but feel ready for it.

Currently i've got a free software programme called 'Gimp', and that's it. My computer doesn't even recognise RAW files at the moment so there's obviously something missing.

Any help would be great, thanks. :thumbup:

You need a special RAW converter. You camera should actually come with one. If not there's some packages like Adobe Lightroom which can read RAW files.

Heres some others. Ignore the version numbers it's an older list.
Bibble Pro v4.9d
Helicon Filter v4.5
Silkypix v3.03
DxO Optics Pro v4.1
Silverfast DCPro v6.5.0r3a
LightZone v3.0
Raw Therapee v2.1.1
ACDSee Pro

I don't know of any plugins for GIMP that could do it though.

What kind of camera do you have?
My canon came with the software digital photo professional 2.0.
My Nikon did not come with it and i had to buy the software. (cant remember what its called).

Hope this helps,

Really? well, i will have to get that then.
Thanks for the tip

Thanks for the replies,

So it looks like i'll need photoshop elements + adobe lightroom ? That may total to £200, which I just can't afford at the moment. So it looks like i'll be sticking with JPEG.

Thankyou anyway.

Photoshop elements 5.0 will work for you just fine. It reads and allows you to process RAW files and then you can convert them to jpg after you process.

If you have a Canon camera it comes with an OEM supplied RAW converter program named DPP (Digital Photo Professional). The latest version is quite good and also has JPEG processing. You can download it from Canon for free.

Gary

if you have nikon, you can dowload the software necessary from their website.

also, pisca2 will work with raw files and you can make minor adjustments easily, and it's free

Ok, thanks once again guys, things are much more clear. :thumbup: