Some questions about settings, point and shoots, and SLR's

Thor06

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys, I have a slew of questions for you all. I have taken a recent interest in photography. I have been using my digital point and shoots for several years but I am getting to be interested in investing in a SLR. I came very close to getting a Canon Rebel T2 (film SLR) but I didnt because I cant really afford to shell out a bunch of money for something I know little about. Well anyway, all this got me looking into ISO speeds, f numbers, and shutter speeds and what they all mean.

I have a pretty good general idea what everything is now, at least I think I do. Well, I know what everything has to do with but I am still completely oblivious as to how you all seem to know exactly what aparture, shutter speed, and film speed with yeild quality results. Can anyone briefly clue me in or point me to a good, informative book? Hopefully I will be able to take a class on this but next semester isnt looking too good.