Sun/shade photos

Just me

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
How do I avoid/correct contast extremes when taking photos in a sun/shade environment? I'm a newbie and jut doing the "point and shoot" thing at this point.

Attachments

• p. with chicks - s.jpg
    p. with chicks - s.jpg
    332.7 KB · Views: 156
Add light. Just a little fill flash in this case. Or a reflector if you have a good angle on the sun working with you. This shot will not give you much time, but you should be able to pop up your built-in flash fairly quickly.

Reactions: KmH
Thank you Designer.. I'm embarrassed to admit I'm using everything set to "automatic", including the flash.
Sounds like this may be an opportunity for me to start making some of my own decisions. I guess the best way to learn, is to go out and start experimenting.... thank you for steering me in the right direction.

The scene may have bright enough for the 'auto' flash not to be turned on.

"Auto" simply means the camera responds to the choices made by the software in the camera. It can't read your mind.

Dappled sunlight is tough to deal with. It is often best to avoid it if at all possible.

Like Designer said adding a bit of fill lighting will certainly help.
Any added light is going to be added to both the parts of the scene lit by direct sunlight and the shaded parts.

With experience you will get to the point you will know how much light needs to be added.
DSLR cameras offer 3 or 4 light metering modes - Spot, Partial, Center-weighted, or Matrix/Evaluative.
If you have the time you can Spot meter the shade and then spot meter the direct sunlight and use those measurements to decide how much light needs to be added.

Thank you Designer.. I'm embarrassed to admit I'm using everything set to "automatic", including the flash.

Yup, time to learn how to use your flash for fill. As 480sparky wrote; the camera will not always pop the flash up if it is on automatic. Read your user's manual to find out how to get all that working.