tablet users

jvgig

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am in the market for a tablet and have a few general questions. Currently, I am planning on purchasing a Wacom Intuos 3 9x12 tablet, but I have a few concerns before dishing out the cash.

First, my uses for the tablet: I want to be able to create digital art (paintings, sketches, etc), edit photos, and try some animation. I will be mainly using the adobe suite (photoshop, illustrator, after effects, premiere).

1) How hard is it to train yourself to draw with your hand, but only see the results and your canvas on your monitor? Does it take a few minutes, hours, days, years? I think the Cintiq line would be an ideal solution, but the $2k price tag scares me away since I am only a high school student.

2) What pens do you use on a regular basis and for what purposes?

3) What software do you use it for other than photoshop/equivalent? Do you use it with other software at all, even if it is compatible?

4) What size do you have? As close as possible to monitor, smaller, larger, depends on project?

5) What aspect ratio do you have? Same as monitor, same as project, it depends on project?

6) Do full screen tablets play nicely with widescreen monitors? I currently have a 20" 1600x1200 monitor, but plan to pair it with a 24" 1920x1200 monitor in the next 6 months-year. Will the 9x12 become a 7x12 if I use it with a widescreen monitor and just not accept input in the top 2 inches?

7) Does anyone use their tablet for video editing/animation? I would be doing everything at HD resolution/aspect ratio.

Thanks

I am in the market for a tablet and have a few general questions. Currently, I am planning on purchasing a Wacom Intuos 3 9x12 tablet, but I have a few concerns before dishing out the cash.