Tax Questions - Capital Expenses

LindseyC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a new photographer...purchased my camera, taking some classes, doing very low cost work to build up my website and portfolio. I plan to open as a sole proprietor and be up and running in 12 months or less.

My question is...should I go ahead and legally establish my business so that I can claim my start-up costs as deductions? This would include the camera, software, office in my home, education, etc.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks. :D

Best bet would be to talk to an accountant or maybe even a lawyer who knows about small business.

I don't know about your jurisdiction, but in if you are already taking money for work, you may be doing so illegally if you haven't set yourself up as a business. You probably have to be paying tax on any money you have made, for example.

Absolutely you should. Getting setup with the state isn't expensive and you can deduct your expenses. Keep in mind though that you will need to start showing your income. Mike could be right in that it's illegal to get paid for work as a business if you're not legit with the state yet. But if it's not a huge sum then really it's not a big issue. Like he said, get hooked up with a certified accountant, this is your best bet to make sure things are being done properly.

Be aware it's what the IRS considers a business, not what you consider a business.

Go right to the source:

Business or Hobby? Answer Has Implications for Deductions

Does your state have sales taxes? If it does and you're not already collecting them and forwarding them to the state you're vulnerable to some seriously expensive penalties.

Edit - From wikipedia.org: