Thoughts on Photoshop?

KamesG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I know a lot of people have something against photoshop when it used to extreme measures. Beyond your basic touch-up. Leaning more on the photo manipulation side.

As a photographer I see nothing wrong with it. I love to edit the color, tones, and just about anything else to extreme measures.

Thoughts and opinions?

The-Morning-Night-Split.jpg

Montecito-Seafood-Peddler.jpg

Golden-Gate-With-Stairs.jpg

Perhaps this is a better example of what I mean,

Right-Arm-Glow.jpg

Photo illustration, like your last sample, is perfectly fine. Photo illustration is a time-honored craft. It differs from "photography" in some major ways. The world is big. There is plenty of room for both photographers, as well as for pixel-pushers, and for everybody in between.

I got no probs with it. Me likes!

I really don't have the talent for some of that stuff, so I personally just stick to minor editing.

I use photoshop to Illustrate and paint my drawings.

So most likely I will use it to edit my photos around. But as a novice Id like to get better at taking a good photo with no editing really or slightly some instead of leaning on my PS knowledge and just manipulating a photo. If that makes sense.

Considering how he slaved over his images, I often wonder what Ansel Adams would have done with Photoshop.

Your top three examples have nothing to do with photoshop. These arguments have existed long before photoshop. But what is critically important is not what other people think, it's what YOU think. It's your hobby and no one should be telling you how to do it.

Scan0001.jpg

This is an image published in a book in 1981. I don't know the history of the image itself. But the book predates Photoshop 1.0 by 6 years.

The true colour is pink and blue with a totally different look.

skieur

C19_buildS_ed4.jpg