Took your advice on Self headshots

MyOwnPaparazzi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I posted a couple of self done headshots a few weeks ago and I tried to take everyone's advice. I tried again without flash and I moved myself further away from my backdrop. Definitely not professional, but I do think it's an improvement on my last pics and I thank everyone for the constructive criticism. definitely need to work on lighting, but I think that will require purchasing new lighting which will have to wait.
$IMG_8080.JPG$IMG_8096.JPG

-Stephanie

btw these are straight out of the camera only cropped. I think they'll look even better when I do some minor editing

They feel a little bit "cool" to me. (Slight blue hue) But that can easily be fixed in post.

im really cool toned LOL I do actually look like this. whats the easiest way to warm them up a bit? I'm new to GIMP

Here is some amateur post editing using very (very) limited knowledge of gimp. I have no idea if it's better or not.
$IMG_8096.jpg

Pretty portraits with pretty white teeth, not with big smile, which is understandable and can be corrected after several tries of practice with attention.

You do not need to have lots of light to produce a good head shots. The lighting, I think from the below is not flattering. You never want to shoot with main light from below. I see the catch light is in the about 7 or 8 o'clock position, which tells me the main/key light is from below. Catch light in the 2 or 10 o'clock in the eyes is much more flattering.

The post process is a little too much, for example, the eyes have such black circles around. when I first learn post process, I tend to over process, unfortunately I think you are making the same mistake as I did.

A little warm skin look better than cool skin to me in normal portraits, unless you want to achieve special effects. You can adjust this easily in white balance and fine tune it through temperature.