Underwater Photos?

ttheod85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello people.I'm really happy to finally join our forum!!!I'm a photo REAL picture newbie from Greece :lol:and i'm looking for your advice!
I'm interested in underwater photography (especially spearfishing videos/photos) and really need some of your knowledge:mrgreen:.
Since i want to buy my first digital camera,i would like to know what are the important features of camera to be able to take good photos in such a low light place as sea.I've been told that the white light balance is one of those features,but thats all i know:confused:.Some help please.

Thanks Theo

umm....depending on what camera you have you can probley get a waterproof plastic case or something like that....you need to be careful what the cases you buy and what depth you are going to so you dont fry your camera....check thease out...

http://www.keepitdrycase.com/35slrcamhous.html

it depends how expensive you want to spend on a case. it can be from like $80-340.

The type of lens would be more important than the camera, IMO. You need a fast lens, due to the low light, like you said.

It would be also important to get an undewater flash.

Welcome to the forum.

Underwater photography (done well) is not cheap. A good camera & lens will really help, but you will probably need some good lighting and a good case for the camera & lens.

You can start HERE, and have a look at some different equipment.

Hello again and thanks for your replies guys.As i said, the camera will be used to capture spearfishing scenes (mostly videos) so there could be no flash used and most of all it should be small sized.I was thinking about a camera of the Sony Cyber-shot -W-range.Maybe an Olympus or Fuji?
I would appreciate if you could point me towards some specific brand models making my choice easier.