Washed Out?

Strauss

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I had the opportunity recently to work with studio lighting on some portraits. I did most in digital but a couple on film. Due to the fact that the light meter on my camera, which is a Nikkormat FTN, is broken, I just checked all of the settings on my DSLR to make sure everything looked good. It did. However, all of the portraits look extremely bad. As opposed to being a nice B&W they're just gray.

Here's one of the portraits that didn't come out:
gex9g.jpg

Here's a random shot from the same roll, which came out looking just fine:
vnoRs.jpg

If it's necessary to know, I was shooting on Ilford Delta 400 film. I'm quite new to film, so any help as to why this would happen would be awesome.

You have light leak. The flash was hitting the front element of your lens.

Is that something that could be fixed by just taping up the camera or would it need a full restoration?

That doesn't look like a light leak, it's more like under exposed.

What was your exposure, and how does the negative look? Do you have any solid whites (black areas) in this frame?

Light leaks are generally localized to a streak or an edge, not consistant over the entire negative as evenly as that. Now if you said fog, I'd be more inclined to agree, old film left in the heat or exposed at the air port? And even then it will still have solid whtes (black areas) in the negative.

I am going to guess it is the processing. A machine will see that low key shot and try to compensate by making all that black closer to 18% grey .The image can be tweaked. Here is a quick example but I would leave it to you to take it in the direction you want to go.:
hylvij