What Should My Next Lens Purchase Be?

Dreichler

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok so I'm brand new to photography as I used to only take pics on my iPhone. I recently bought a Sony a6300 for my girlfriend and I. She uses it to make videos as the 4K feature is awesome and I use it for pictures when we go places like the beach, the zoo, and vacations. But my main use of the lens is to photograph my living reef. I have a reef tank full of beautiful corals but they are pretty small and very hard to focus onto and take pictures of just one coral. I want to be able to photograph them pretty close up like I'm taking a macro picture. My 18-55 lens now does a decent job but I have to stand back from the tank and zoom in to get a half decent shot. I'm looking for a lens that will serve my purpose of photographing small corals from a very short distance away (1 to 5 inches away). Along with the purpose of taking pictures of the corals, I also want something that will let me zoom in further on objects like when I'm at the zoo or on vacation and trying to photograph something pretty far away. The 18-55 is good for me as far as taking portrait pictures with a beautiful background, but taking pictures super close up or far away, it slacks a little bit.

So here's my question: Is there a single lens I can buy that will serve the purpose of taking pictures up close of my corals and will also zoom into objects that are far away?

I've been trying to learn more and more about lenses and the different types and features but it's a lot to take in, especially with a ton of different lens choices. I'm not even sure if a lens exists that lets you take macros and distance pictures. BUT ALL HELP IS VERY MUCH APPRECIATED

Thanks, Connor