Where should a complete noob start?

inTempus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all,

I'm here to learn from you. I just recently (as of yesterday) jumped into photography. This is something I've always wanted to do but never made the proper investment in equipment. I always came home with pocket digital cameras thinking they would do everything I needed them to - and they often didn't.

Now that I have a new born son, I've decided the time was ripe for me to take the plunge and actually get a high quality camera and learn something about how to use it.

After reading everything I could find online, I decided the Canon 40D was the camera for me. So far, I couldn't be happier! I won't put the thing down. :)

Now it's time to get down to business. I need to learn from the ground up about photography. I know little or nothing about the fundamentals of what makes a good photographer/photograph. I know little or nothing about the equipment other than how to do some very basic stuff.

Where would you point a guy like me? Is there a good book or online resource that will get a complete newbie on the right course so that I at least understand the basic principals?

Thanks a bunch!

Welcome to the forum and congrats on the son (mine is just 8 weeks old).

Personally, I think that it really helps to have a good understanding of the technical side of photography. Learn about exposure; shutter speed, aperture & ISO...and how they interact to create the exposure. Learn about metering; how the camera does it and how you can use that to get what you want.

Many people have recommended the book 'Understanding Exposure' by Brian Peterson...but there are plenty of good books available. I tend not to recommend the newer 'digital' books...because they concentrate too much on the digital side. The basics of exposure haven't changed in 100 years, so an older book should still offer plenty of good info.