Where to develop!!!

JonathanBlu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been learning photography for about 8 months with a point and shoot digital camera, which worked for a while, but recently I acquired an old 35mm Minolta and now I'm more interested in developing and printing my own B&W's than I am in pointing and shooting with my digital.

What I was wondering is where can someone like me just learning how to develop, develop my film? Setting up a darkroom where I live is pretty much out of the question, and I was curious what alternatives there were.

Well, if you are mainly interested in developing your own B&W film, you don't need a dark room. A dark room with an enlarger is used for making prints from your negatives.

You can develop your film at home, easily. The only time you need total darkness is to remove your film from its canister and loading it onto a reel. Once it's been wound into the reel and placed into a developing tank, you can do the rest at your kitchen sink! Sitting comfortably on the floor in a closet at night (to ensure no light leaks) or using a good quality changing bag will suffice.

If you're not interested in developing your film, you can jump online to search for local pro labs. Get a phone number and tell them what you're looking for - film development, a contact sheet, whatever. There are also mail order labs out there who can do very good work.

You can also check out a local college or university to see if they have darkrooms and adult photography classes, and learn to do this at home. If you learn darkroom, you may be able to get access to it periodically to do some printing.

It's a wonderfully liberating thing to learn - developing your own film. Once you have the negatives, you can scan them and still use those files in PS to print from home, if you end up with no darkroom access.