Which triggers do I need??

Bethers

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm just starting to learn studio lighting and recently purchased an ab800. I'm hoping someone can tell me what the best and least expensive triggers are. I shoot with a Canon 7D, if that's useful information. :)
Thanks so much!

Used to be one answer for this (because there was a clear cut best and because there was really not such thing as a cheap wireless (I assume you're talking about) trigger) but now your questions is like asking what's the best and cheapest camera.

Do you just need to trigger the light? Do you need any special features? Do you need to be able to adjust the power remotely? Are you ever going to be out of the studio or in an environment where interference will be an issue? Are you ever going to buy other brand that have built in triggers that are only compatible with Pocket Wizards, are you ever going to want something that does TTL so you can use the same gear for an AB as well as a TTL enabled speedlight?

Who makes the best hamburger?

The best (IMO) is Pocket Wizard. They've been the industry standard since there was an industry standar for this sort of thing. The best bang for the buck however are probably either the Yongnuo or Cactus V models

I've got the Yongnuo triggers and have no complaints. Inexpensive too.

Do you need wireless? If not, you can plug your AB right into your sync connector (if equipped) or hot shoe adapter. I've got cables of varying lengths (up to about 16') for this. It's hard to beat the reliability of wires. Of course, they can become trip hazards also.