Will the flash work?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by 'Daniel', Oct 26, 2005.

  1. 'Daniel'

    'Daniel' TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Is there a way of knowing i a flash will work with my 350D? I don't want to try it out in case I damage the 350D. It's a Hanimex CB2200 if that helps.
     
  2. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I think Big Mike knows the answer to this question. He was helping Ian out a little while ago with a similar question (different flash though)

    I think you're supposed to check the voltage of the flash and the camera and make sure they match.... or something like that.
     
  3. jstuedle

    jstuedle No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,889
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    S.E. Indiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I am not sure what the "trigger" voltage is on the flash but modern cameras can only tolerate about 6 volts. I am not familiar with the Canon flash system, but I think you need to look into if the Canon uses a special flash TTL circuitry for there digital cameras. TTL in film works by reading light reflected off the film surface when the shutter is open. A digital sensor does not reflect nearly as much light as film, so this method does not work. Nikon uses a system where a pre-flash goes off, the camera sets exposure before the shutter opens, then fires the flash and shutter. This happens so fast that you usually will not notice more than one flash. I would imagine Canon does something to read the flash before exposure as well. Now if you want to use a "Auto" flash setting instead of TTL, then you can probable use it.
     
  4. 'Daniel'

    'Daniel' TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Thanks John, I think what you said is right although I ddin't really follow it all. I didn't tryi t with auto but did with manual and there seems to be problems where sometimes it would work on slower shutter speeds but on the faster speeeds only part of the screen had picture in, the rest ws black. I dunno if that was a sync thing with the shutter and the flash firing or what. It doesn't matter I most likely will never use it. I don't really like flashes.
     
  5. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Set the shutter speed to 1/60s and that may fix your black parts of the frame. You may have just had the speed set too fast for the flash to sync with.
     
  6. DocFrankenstein

    DocFrankenstein Clinically Insane?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    6
  7. will turner

    will turner TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london blad!
    if your shutter speed was above 200(i think thats the xsync for that camera) then you will get part of the picture under exposed, anything under that then you should be fine.

    flashes are amazing when you learn how to use them.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
350d with hanimex flash
,

hanimex cb2200

,
hannimex cb2200