15-85 or 17-50 f/2.8

mrdemin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.computertalkforum.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm sort of stuck here. I am no pro, wanted a dSLR for the features and quality I could achieve. This is just another hobby for me and I cannot justify owning 5 lenses... YET.
Anyway, I have the kit lens (18-55) on my t1i, but want something sharper or faster or more versatile (or all of the above?)
The new 15-85 really fits the versatile bill here, and I have read some good stuff about the IQ.
The 17-50 f/2.8 Sigma or Tamron, I don't recall right now, but either way I have heard good things about that lens (mostly), and the price is very attractive as well. I have considered the 24-70, or 28-75 f/2.8, but would like something a little wider (I think!)
My idea here is to minimize swapping lenses, but keep a certain level of quality.
The 18-200 fell out of this comparison due to pretty bad reviews on IQ, what else can you expect with such a long focal range.
I wish the 15-85 was a constant f/2.8, but I'd be spending twice as much.
I know I know, I want too much from one lens, but whos to stop me from dreaming.
This all lays out like this, if I get the 15-85 I will probably almost never need a tele, but will have a "slower" lens (I do a lot of indoors). If I get the 17-50 I get the speed, possibly IQ, but lose out on the wide end AND the long end. The 24-70... I lose a LOT on the wide end.
Does anyone recommend the 18-135? I'd give up speed if the IQ is up to par w/ this lens.

I have the Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 as well as the Canon 17-85mm F4-5.6 IS (similar to the 15-85mm)...and also an 18-55mm kit lens that isn't worth mentioning here.