18-55?

Karla_atx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i believe the lens that came with my XTI is 18-55mm so i was wondering what would be the best lens to buy im not looking to spend big money for it since im still very new to photography .

Another question im having a hard time understanding the AV mode , i read somewhere that my lens isnt so good for that mode is this true?

Do are you intrested in any particular type of photography?

Do you have a budget?

A longer range telephoto is always a handy addition to your kitbag, for example a cheap 55-200mm lens or 70-200/70-300 (like THIS or THIS. You could also get other brand lenses like Sigma or Tamron that are cheaper at the cost of a tiny loss of quality [like THIS or THIS in a Canon fit]). This will allow you to shoot most wildlife or sports, or just for general times when you need that little extra bit of reach. It's also worth getting the very cheap 50mm F/1.8 lens. This kind of lens is perfect for portraits and places where you need a VERY shallow depth of field (explained later).

The person who told you the 18-55 kit lens is bad for AV (or Aperture Priority mode) is wrong, but the lens could be better. Your lens always comes with an "F-number" after the lens length, which can range from F/1.2 to F/6.3, or a range of these numbers (e.g. F/2-4) I think your lens is F/3.5-5.6.

This number is the aperture of your lens, and it performs 3 functions:

It allows light to pass through your camera onto your sensor
Basically, an aperture is a hole in your lens :D

(now for the important parts)

It is variable and can regulate the shutter speed