1st camera

bmxissofun

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a total beginner. what would be a good camera to start out with? I know NOTHING about cameras.

that's pretty broad...

how about:

what are you plannin on taking pics of?
do you want digital or film?
cheap or expensive?

....in other words, there are TONS of choices...
maybe post up some more specifics and we could toss out suggestions?

ok I'd like to get a cheap film camera. I'd mostly use it for taking pictures of my friends snowboarding and bikeing.

Biking and snowboarding usually require better equipment!

Do you what carry the camera with you when biking or boarding.

I have taken a lot of baseball and a few wakeboarding photos. Lighting and timing is very difficult with wakeboarding, snow is the same. This will take a lot of practice and film. Digital is not a good option because you need a shutter to help stop or slow the motion, and that a high-end camera.

The type camera, that depends on the quality photos you want and amount of work you are willing to do. At minimum you need a SLR with 3 fps or an add power drive, a 50mm 1.8f lens, and a good flash. To be honest this is not cheap, even if you buy used equipment it’s at less $400

Is there a photo club at your school or in your town? It so maybe ones of the members could help you out and you help them with opportunely to practice and improve their skills.

Photography is a bit like learning to swim.
You start out in the training pool with water-wings.
Then you graduate to the main pool.
Then you start learning the fancy stuff like butterfly.
When you get REALLY good you can sometimes walk on it.

Start with a basic point and shoot.
If you get frustrated with it 'cause you can't get the stuff you want, tell us and we'll start spending your money for you :wink:

bmxissofun said:
ok I'd like to get a cheap film camera. I'd mostly use it for taking pictures of my friends snowboarding and bikeing.