2 Questions Regarding my Nikon D90

ThornleyGroves

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Bournemouth, Manchester, Athens, Liverpool
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all, I have a Nikon D90 with the 18-105mm f3.5 VR Lens Kit, i'm into a lot of sports and like Bmx, Soccer, Snowboarding etc, so i'm going to buy the Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 Lens as i hear this is a very good lens with fast shutter speed and ill make me happy when shooting water sports, soccer etc.

1. I want a nice macro lens a fairly standard one for my camera, but good enoguh to bring out the best features of say a close flower with a bee on it, so should have a good shutter speed too... which one do you suggest

2. I am looking into getting some off camera flash for BMX shoots as this would help my images alot and i could get some quality pictures, i have no experience with off camera flash but am wondering, what would be suitible for the reasons i mentioned before.

if you could help answer the above it would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks Tom.

Okay, I think there might be a little confusion here. Lenses, regardless of their minimum/maximum aperture do not have shutter speeds of their own; they have an effect on the shutter speed by controlling the amount of light they admit through the lens. That control is your aperture or 'f' number. The higher the number the smaller the hole (iris) through which light can be admitted and the slower the required shutter speed will be.

The Sigma 70-200 is, by all reports a good lens and with it's large minimum aperture (f2.8 meaning it can let a lot of light) it will allow you to use higher shutter speeds. It's not quite as good as the Nikon 70-200, but it's also nowhere near the price. I think it will do just fine.