50mm lens for Sony a300

oursfan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a noob to DSLR photography and have recently purchased a Sony a300 to mess around with. My question is this.... Where can I find a good 50mm prime lens that will fit a Sony a300 camera without breaking my bank account? I am only a beginner and have a lot to learn before I start forking out lots of cash for top quality lenses. I see posts all over the place saying that a good 50mm f1.8 lens should run about $100. Is this true and if so where can I get one that will fit my Sony a300?

Everywhere I have read says that a 50mm f1.8 lens is a must have in the bag for capturing good indoor portraits. I understand that prime lenses such as these will generally capture more light and result in a better picture. (Am I right about that?) I went ahead and purchased a Sigma 28-300mm 3.5-6.3 lens to get larger zoom for taking outdoor shots and have been pretty happy with the versatility of the lens, but I now understand that a lens of that range may not be the best. It is good for me and for what I do and since I am just picking this up as a hobby. I do need something for indoor shooting though. The 28-300mm is not an option in low light or any indoor lighting for that matter. Pictures that I have taken with that lens in poor lighting with the camera's built in flash and always dark and underexposed. The flash does not help at all with the 28-300mm lens. I guess a good external flash could help there.

Any suggestions would be great. Thanks!

Congrats on the A300!
(I have an A200 and it's just a dream!)

About your question, the answer is yes you can find a 50mm f/1.7 for your Sony. Look on ebay for a Minolta Maxxum 50mm f/1.7 or even 1.4 if you can afford it. They go easily for as much as the Canon and Nikon versions go so good luck finding one!

Enjoy your A300!

EDIT: