A couple noob questions

pony

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a for real beginner, so be warned these may be really lame questions :lol:
1)
How do I find a good camera shop in Pittsburgh?? Google and WhitePages.com are not turning up much

2)
I inherited a Panasonic Lumix DMC-L1 with these lenses:

Leica D-Vario-Elmarit 1:2.8-3.5/14-50mm
Leica D Summilux 1:1.4/25mm
Nikkor-S 1:1.2/55mm
Olympus Zuiko 1:3.5 - 5.6/14-42mm

And this Flash:
Nikon Speedlight SB-16

I have not tried the flash at all because I just don't even know how to use it.
I seem to be able to take half decent pics outside, but in low light I struggle. Anything over ISO 400 is really noisy. The built in bounce flash seems to give me better results, but in larger spaces does nothing good.

As a beginner, is this equipment that I can work with? I don't see a lot of mention of this camera, so I don't know opinions about it.
Would I be better off buying a mid range Nikon (I have used BILs D80 and D90 as a point and shoot and I liked the results)?

Any advice? I am having fun, but feeling really frustrated with my camera sometimes.
TIA

Last edited:
As a beginner, is this equipment that I can work with?

In short... yes... camera is more than capable for a beginner....

There was a time beginners learning on film didn't have access to anything much more than 400ISO fine grain negative. Definitely not something that would prevent a beginner. The camera is an older one so it isn't going to be a good comparison to recent released cameras with newer technology.

Post a sample @400ISO. If memory recalls, I thought it was ok (printable) up to 1600ISO.

I guess what I am wondering is if I am going to learn anything from using this specific camera, or would it be worth it to trade for a different one?
If so, do you have any opinions on a good camera that is beginner friendly but that I can grow with?