A couple shots of my boys from yesterday

sprig25

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
C&C welcome. I shot a couple pics of the boys yesterday.

$IMG_8676-2small.jpg$IMG_8702small.JPG$IMG_8974-2small.jpg$IMG_9155-1-small.JPG

Welcome to the forum.

The last is the best of the set.

But... Out of curiosity are you using your camera on manual or automatic? Because the settings you are using make no sense from a photographic stand point. Looks like you have decent light so why would you opt for such a high shutter speed and higher ISO where you actually lose image quality? Also looks heavy on the editing and you seem to be missing your focus. The larger your aperture the harder it is going to be to hit the focus.

I appreciate the info. I was shooting on full manual. I thought I had the ISO on auto, but that may have been my problem. I am rather new to portraits, also new to full Manual, been shooting action sport at dusk dark the past few months. I must have missed the ISO being on auto. I thought they were rather bright myself, that is why I raised the shutter speed. Trying to darken them. Maybe, if I had had the ISO properly set. But I am not sure of the focus issue that you speak of. The aperture was set to 2.8, as large as it will go on the lens that I was using, but then again, I am having some focus issues with my camera. It is a REBEL XS. I am in the process of trying to upgrade to a 60D. A couple months ago it wouldn't focus with any lens and now a couple of my lenses are having issues with FOCUS. I think it is all in the camera. I have a 50 f/1.8 but that is the main one with focus issues. That is why I used the 70-200 f2.8 for these pics. Again, Thanks for the critique.

If you don't know that 2.8 gives you the narrowest depth of field, you shouldn't be giving yourself the additional task of learning to shoot manual.

There is no prize given in photography for technical achievement, it's all about taking pictures.