A little help...

Reyna

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I went to a wedding this weekend and took my dslr. This is my first slr camera and I am still trying to figure it out. I took this pic. that I really like but I can't see the detail in her dress. Can I adjust that using photoshop? What could I do to fix it or can it be fixed?

dvkhf7.jpg

I went to a wedding this weekend and took my dslr. This is my first slr camera and I am still trying to figure it out. I took this pic. that I really like but I can't see the detail in her dress. Can I adjust that using photoshop? What could I do to fix it or can it be fixed?

I'm a noob myself, but from what I've learned here, probably not. It's overexposed. You might get some back, but probably not as much as you'd like. If you shot in RAW you might be able to lower the exposure and burn the face a little, but I think your results would be less than optimal.

I'd suggest two things to think about in the future. Meter off the dress and (if you're shooting is auto/shutter priority/appeture priority) lock the exposure then recompose and take the shot. This will lead to the face being underexposed to some extent.

Or have the person move to a slightly shady place where the white isn't so much brighter than skin tone. This would probably be your best bet.

That's my 2 cents.

Unfortunately since this seems to be washed-out, getting any detail pulled out will be difficult. In the future, try stepping down your aperture so its a tad underexposed. Its always easier to bring out details in post-process that way. Good luck in future shots.

Which version of photoshop do you have?

Like Agent said, it may be hard to pull detail out. A last effort could be used by messing with the Contrast/Hue/White Balance
->Image> Adjustments

Other than that, I don't have enough knowledge yet of Adobe to be of further assistance