Achieving The Perfect White Background.

candylover

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I'm trying to get a white background but it's so hard. I'm wondering if anybody has any suggestions. I have included some pictures. Including the way my strobes are set up. The background still looks Grey. I tried following Zack's tips, but it doesn't seem to be working for me. He doesn't even recommend what kind of strobes you might need.
I have 5 strobes The 3 of them have 200 watts and the other two are more powerful and contain 3 light bulbs per each head (250 watts).

Do you guys think I should get strobes with more powerful watts? If so what would you recommend? or Is it the way they are set up, cause I did try moving them. Please let me know. I will really appreciate it.

IMG_0372.jpg

IMG_0373.jpg

IMG_0329.jpg
IMG_0157small3.jpg

I'm not an expert here but I'm going to assume that you need to blow out the background to get it white in the photo. Do you have the background strobes turned up all the way?

Yeah, you need to overexpose the background by at least 1 or 2 stops to make it white.

First of all, I don't think you are working with 'strobes'.
A 'strobe' light is a light that outputs it's light as a burst or flash. What you appear to have are just lamps.

That's OK, you don't need strobes...especially if you are shooting still subjects.

My guess is that your problem is with metering. When a camera sees a scene that is mostly white like this, it just thinks it's a bright scene and wants to expose it as a 'average' scene....so you get an underexposed (grey) image.
What you need to do, is adjust the exposure away from the camera's metered reading. In this case, you need to add exposure. You can do that by adjusting the EC (exposure compensation) or by putting the camera into manual mode and inputting the settings yourself.
If you are using actual studio strobes, then you would need to have the camera in manual mode.