Additional Lens(es) to complement?, according to my interests.

giorgio

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi There

I'm a beginner.
I have the D80 with the 18-135mm F3.5-5.6G kit
I haven't practiced much yet but I have read a lot.

I think my current lense is somehow... flexible and good for general purposes I guess.

I'm seeing myself wanting to shoot in...
- Outdoors(streets, people, markets, etc.)

- Candids and portraits in social reunions, people minding their business, etc.
Here, in Candids, I guess I'm gonna be kind of far from the subjects, so it would be me just sitting or walking around taking pics with no tripod nor flash mostly.
But I have thought of living strategically a remote Flash(vivitar) on a stand covering an area, and still shoot some candids

In social portraits(sorry, I don't know the Photogs terms), by this, I mean when in the reaunion I make contact with the subjects and there is some posing to the camera, so there I may be able to pull out a Flash with no problem.

So, with this in mind, what would you think about the lenses considering the one I already have.(18-135mm)?

My opinion:
I think the first or almost obligated option would be the:
- 50mm 1.8
-- I think it will improve portraits indoors and outdoors, maybe not much as candids as it doesn't have zoom, but for the price/benefit relation seems to be a must. Right?

Not sure if I would need more than 1 new lense, like, maybe one with variable zoom but better lighting than than my 18-135, or the one I've got could do it just as good as another similar lense?
Like for the Candids, Outdoors, Indoors.?
For Candids, would my current 18-135mm most likely make me increase the ISO?

Regarding the budget, well I know these lense range from 120usd to 700usd so that's why I'll check opinions about the related benefits.

Thank you very much for your help

Giorgio

Yep, the AF 50mm f/1.8D will be a nice addition to your lens lineup, but won't help much fort candids.