Advice for first newborn session

TaraW

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! I recently got my first dslr and Im starting to build a portfolio. My friend asked me to take some shots of her 3month old for his birth announcements. I have been doing a lot of research but I thought I would ask for any sort of advice/tips that anyone would have.

Im planning on using my 50mm/1.8. Any tips on posing, settings etc would be awesome. Thank you ahead of time. I hope to come back with a couple of good pictures after Saturday! ;)

Errr...3 WEEK old baby. Oops.

goto flickr.com and search the groups for "newborn"... this will give you 100's of great photo ideas.

edit: and yes, the 50mm 1.8 is the perfect lens.

p!nK

Thanks! As for settings, any thoughts? I guess Ill have to see what kind of light I have before guessing ISO etc....

Im still learning how to know what conditions call for what settings...

Well if you are shooting inside you will also need some kind of lighting. I dont know if I would take a 3 week old out side.

When I did some baby shots, I went to Jo Anns Fabric, and picked up a yard and a half of a really soft and fuzzy black fabric, and I also got a soft textured fabrice in the color blue and pink. If they have a rocker/car seat/bean bag you can lay the fabric in there and then lay the baby on it. As far as poses just google images "newborn" There will be thousands of images! If she is doing a birth annoucement i would recommend getting some pictures of the little feet and fingures as well, these can make a great collage.

Thanks! As for settings, any thoughts? I guess Ill have to see what kind of light I have before guessing ISO etc....

Im still learning how to know what conditions call for what settings...

I would defently learn your settings, and make sure your focus is on, If is was you I would manualy focus. The little one will not move very much so it wont be that hard