advice needed to start a photo business

carrie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new to TPF and hoping some of you photogs out there can lend me some advice. I have a Bachelor's Degree in photojournalism from about 8 years ago, but[FONT=Verdana, Helvetica, Arial] currently I'm working full-time in an unrelated field. [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, Helvetica, Arial]I'm considering getting back into photography. [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, Helvetica, Arial]My husband is a musician and has an "in" to the wedding industry in our town, which is very popular for destination weddings, etc. I'm also interested in pregnancy/baby/kid portraiture, etc. Since I haven't worked professionally in several years, my experience with digital is limited and I am not up-to-date on current imaging software, etc. But, I have a great eye and a love for photography!

I have some questions about where to begin with this venture. Any general advice is welcome, plus answers to the specific questions below. THANKS!

GETTING STARTED:

-I have inquired about volunteering with a wedding photog in town, to get my feet back into the game and get some portfolio shots. I was thinking my next step would be volunteering/advertising on Craigslist, etc. to shoot a few weddings for free (minus cost of supplies) again to build my portfolio and get some experience. Obviously I would be clear with potential clients about my inexperience, etc. Any thoughts on this approach, or other suggestions?

EQUIPMENT:

- I shoot Nikon and have only film cameras. What do you consider the bare minimum digital camera body to get started as a portrait/wedding photographer? I have several lenses, some of which would have to be replaced. Want to share your bare minimum combination of lenses?