Advice on a Good Beginner Camera

Sheenie Mcgoo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am just getting into photography and was wondering what a good starting camera would be. The two biggest things I'm looking for are durability and cost. It doesn't need to be too advanced or anything like that. Also, I said earlier cost was an issue; I'm looking for something around a few hundred, I'd be willing to sacrifice quality for cost. Finally, I'm thinking of buying used to save money. Is this a good strategy, or is a camera something that should be bought brand new? Thanks for any help.

I don't know if you're talking about getting a DSLR, but I got my Canon 450D used for 500, with some extra goodies of course.

Budget?
Point and shoot or SLR?

As for buying used--I'd recommend it if you're buying a higher-grade camera, which are very well made--if you are buying a more cheaply made camera, then your taking a bigger risk of malfuction due to misuse.

Personally I have never purchased new--it's not worth it. Refurb and used all the way. If something isn't built well enough to be reliable used, I don't want a new version of it either.

Budget?
Point and shoot or SLR?

As for buying used--I'd recommend it if you're buying a higher-grade camera, which are very well made--if you are buying a more cheaply made camera, then your taking a bigger risk of malfuction due to misuse.

Personally I have never purchased new--it's not worth it. Refurb and used all the way. If something isn't built well enough to be reliable used, I don't want a new version of it either.

This (some of it).

Definitely need to know your budget to advise you. "A few hundred" could be 200-600. That's a pretty wide range. Gotta have a small range in mind before shopping if you don't want to get stuck with something weak or too expensive.