Advice on taking portrait pictures

grphx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi. I"m buying a new camera tomorrow(Canon Rebel dSLR) and I have a friend who is coming over and she's going to let me take some pictures of her. I have been using a Canon Powershot A80 for the past 3 years and now I'm moving up to an SLR with it's normal lens and a wide angle lens. I can't remember the measurement of the lense but it is just enough to where it isn't a fisheye lense, but it goes let you take shots like the interior of a car and such.

As for the girl and what kind of pictures, they will be pretty much her posing. She was in art school and had to do figurtive drawings so I'm guessing she knows how to pose. She even oppted for those semi-nude pictures you see, like of the nude girl laying down to where nothing is showing, but it is clear she's nude.

Any advice on taking pictures of people like this, specifically girls? My "studio" is pretty much a white sheet to cover up my gross 70s style carpet and maybe another one to cover up the walls.

i've seen some cool pictures like of the girl's body(not sure what part, but there is some curves) and a drop of honey is on her body.
I'm pretty good with photoshop so I should be able to touch up any bad spots in her skin or adjust the colors(as far as photoshop will let).

I just need some examples of poses and stuff to tell her tomorrow.

Some quick thoughts:

I wouldn't use anything wider than 50mm unless you have a specific reason to and really want the distortion that results from a wide angle. With digital cameras becoming so popular and everyone taking shots standing close using a wide-angle, I usually associate this look with snapshots.

Don't use on-camera flash. Try using window light with a large white board for a reflector.