Advices for 50mm lens

patatedouce

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,
As a new hobbyist photographer, I ask you kindly some advices for which canon 50mm lens to take : f1.8 or f1.4, is there a huge difference between them?
As far as I know, the price is.
I read some reviews, and unfortunately it confuses me more because It was around 50/50 for both.
Some said there was barrel distortion for the f1.4 and less for the f1.8, other said the bokeh is better for f1.4 and so on..

Like I told you before, i'm very new to photography and will want to know if I'll see any differences between them in my pictures.
I'm a student and I can afford the f1.4 but I should consider keeping some money and get more with it.
I have a Canon 600D kit II (18-135mm) and I really like the bokeh effect on the 50mm as taking portrait picture.
Sorry for my English, it's not my native language and I really appreciate your help.

Nui.

Last edited:
Check out these (1 & 2) pages for examples on the lenses.

I have the f1.8, and I really like it. Yes, not great build quality, yes it feels cheap, yes, it flares a lot, yes, it focuses very slowly and noisy, but it takes darn sharp images stopped down!

Check out these (1 & 2) pages for examples on the lenses.

I have the f1.8, and I really like it. Yes, not great build quality, yes it feels cheap, yes, it flares a lot, yes, it focuses very slowly and noisy, but it takes darn sharp images stopped down!

Thanks, when they (and you) said 'not great build quality', it's like very fragile? any bad move and it breaks? or it's like my kit II? (and I do wish is not a cheap quality too..).
I saw that the L- series are the best quality so it's not 'breakable' right?
I know my question is not very explicit but I hope you understand what i'm asking.