Aerial Film: Uses on land, preferences, developing, etc?

Thook

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey there. I'm a photography student at Northeastern University in Boston, MA. I'm currently working on my final project and I want to experiment with different types of film. I've heard that aerial film is designed to have special effects specifically for aerial photography, but I wanted to know if anyone knew what photographs using aerial film looked like if they were taken from the ground.

Also, I've done a thorough search and I've come up with some results from military surplus sales, but I wanted to know if anyone knew of a place to get aerial film for a 4 by 5 camera (preferably pre-cut but I've found that the vast majority available is in roll-form), and preferably cheap (once again, I realize it's more expensive than your TMAX or HP5 film, but I'm willing to spend a little more for interesting, different results).

If this doesn't sound like a good idea, would you have any suggestions of different types of film for a 4 by 5 camera? I've used TMAX, and even experimented recently with the Macrophot infrared film, but I'm looking for something different that will have an interesting effect. Unfortunately, Tech Pan film has been discontinued and lots of the great films to experiment with have been disappearing. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much for your time, attention, and help. I look forward to your responses.

Thanks again,

Dylan :D

Aerial film is designed to produce a higher contrast - due to the lower luminance range of objects seen from the air. The higher contrast gives better tonal separation.
Some aerial films also have extended IR sensitivity for haze penetration.

Thanks. I didn't know that about the Aerial film. It sounds really interesting and I'm excited to see what it can do, both aerially and on land.