All these technical/specification stuff confuses me

berlinbelle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,
I'm new here. I'm a photography student at Memphis College of Art. Though
I've only been doing photography for about 5 months, I'm head over heels in love with it. Anyways, I'm looking to buy a new camera. I have just a (really) cheap phoenix p-5000 camera and it is not sufficient anymore. I also think that I am ready for a flash (I've never used flash before) and a macro lens (most of my photographs are close-up still life types), but I have no clue how to begin shopping around for any of these things. I've tried doing a little shopping on my own, but so far I've failed miserably (as you can already see by my previous camera). So, as far as a camera I was thinking this: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/112196-GREY/Nikon_1689_FM10_Camera_Kit_with.html

What type of flash coordinates with this and is good for a beginner like me, because I read up on dedicated flash vs. nondedicated and I'm confused than before?
Also how do you know if a lens/flash will fit with your camera? And what type of macro lens do you suggest for me?
Lastly I'm on a budget (being a college student and all) so what are some cheap places I could buy all this stuff, internet or otherwise?

Thank you a lot! All help is appreciated!

basically man...all SLR bodies are the same when you're shooting with film. (within reason) It's all in the lenses. But again ...sometimes you're limited by the mount that the camera uses...and that's usually the biggest factor.

Anything canon or Nikon should be good if you're only shooting film. They make plenty of lenses for both brands...just spend a decent amount on something solid and quality.

Shopping at B&H is the way to go - they are really as cheap as possible, anything substantially more affordable is either a fluke or probably a scam.