Almost-rant/an observation from a newbie...

Sammie_Lou

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm probably way out of line here, being brand new to the forum and all, but I've noticed that some people (newbies like myself) come in and post a couple pics for C&C. The images will be bad and they'll get all upset because they think that they're the BEST.IMAGES.EVER. and everyone is obviously out to get them. So then I'll click on their link to their Flikr or Facebook (or sometimes I'll search them on Facebook if they have a watermark and I suspect that they have a Facebook photography page, too), and they have images that are actually decent on there. If I'm as much of a noob as I am (and trust me, I'm a noob) and I can still pick out that they're not showing off their best work, how can they not see it?? I get posting ones that aren't as good if you're aware that they're not as good and you honestly want to know how to make them better in post or what you could have done to make them better SOOC...and I get how some people are upset at the criticism that they receive because it's sometimes not presented in a constructive way (I've been there)...but it's people who are honestly shocked that everyone isn't saying "OMG! Great job!" when they're showing off the worst of their images that are really confusing me, ya know?? Has anyone else noticed this trend, as well??

I noticed it as well, and i think i know who you're talking about. I viewed their Facebook page, and some of their pictures are really good, but unfortunately, their posted images were deleted.

It isn't just one person...it's quite a few, actually. =) I guess it just frustrates me when I see someone who can and is doing better and they don't share the good images. I don't have any good images yet. lol Everything of mine is bad...I can either get the composition right or the exposure right...I can't get to a place yet where I get EVERYTHING right. haha