Amateur shooting a wedding

Primoz

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!

So I got a proposal for photographing a wedding from someone who saw my Flickr account and liked what they saw. (Events, People - a set on Flickr, Places, Nature - a set on Flickr)

I explained that I am NOT a professional and have never shot a wedding before; that I am aware that it's a hard thing to photograph with lots of pressure on the photographer and that I do photography only as a passionate hobby. The couple said, that they totally understand the situation and that they are completely fine with it... (they don't want to spend a fortune on a professional photographer)

So I accepted the honour and opportunity to expand my portfolio and I took the thing very seriously - I have met them and went to see where the wedding is taking place with them: the ceremony is outside under a white "ceiling" (which I like, because it will help me with bouncing flash =D) And for the portrait session there is a lovely grass "platform" in shade with trees around.

My plan was to shoot the ceremony with on camera flash with an (offbrand) lightsphere on it. For the couple shots I wanted to do off camera flash session with an umbrella + a reflector. (Maybe even just natural light + reflector on some shots) I want to get a style of images that is warm, bright, with not overdone contrast or clarity.

I told them I don't own a backup body, so one of their friends (who is also coming to the wedding) will bring an entry level Nikon body in case anything happens to my D90...

Do you have any tips or suggestions? I mean - I do believe I know what I am doing with my photography and I know my gear, but still: Any of your unpleasant expiriences you would like to share to help me avoid them? =)

I know I don't have that many people shots in my portfolio, but you've got to start somewhere, right? =) Thoughts on my previous work?