Amateur wanting to apply to a Photography program: Waste of time? Seeking critique!

tragedy_x

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been interested in photography for a few years now and I've now decided that I really want to go to school for it. I pretty much have my heart set on the Bachelor of Applied Arts (Photography) program at Sheridan College in Oakville, Ontario. My family has always supported and pushed me to pursue photography, saying that I have an 'eye' for it. A professional photographer even told my mom that its something I should seriously considered! Despite this, I'm worried that I'm not quite good enough to pursue this career. I don't want to waste my time applying to a photography course when I should be applying to something else. Admittedly, I'm an extreme amateur with very, very little technical knowledge. Thankfully, the document outlining Sheridan's portfolio requirements say, "We are not looking for technical perfection. We are looking for artistic potential and the ability to take on a variety of subjects (i.e., portraits, landscapes, still life etc.)." So I'm here to get some opinions on my work. What do you guys think? Do I have the artistic potential to pursue photography?

Last edited:
I think you need to follow your heart. Some of these show some brilliance an some are basic snapshots.........I think you have posted way to many here to really critique

Do you truly love photography. If so go for it, screw it don't ask permission, don't apologize and never stop taking pictures. Never let anyone, school or an person stop you from dreaming and attempting to achieve and pursue something that you truly love. Regardless of whether the school likes your work or anyone else for that matter, if you pick up a camera and capture images then in my opinion your an artist be true to yourself and see where it takes you.