Another New D40 owner, a few of my first pics

ronanphilip

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
im new to photography, just started doing some photography classes as part of my college course. decided now was a good time to buy dslr and went for d40. havent figured out how to use it properly just yet but here is a few pics i took messing around. let me know what you think.

Photo 1

2939994722_2bc4851f33_b.jpg

photo 2
2939987330_77dce754bd_b.jpg

photo 3
2972406154_0816a54584_b.jpg

there are a few more on my flickr

Last edited:
Not too bad. I know I didn't shoot that well when I first got my D40. My only advice is to make use of a CPL in #1 and 2 to improve the skies.

thanks anubis404, there are a few more on my flicker. i tried to make a signature with a link but its not showing up so ive added it to the first post above.

thanks anubis404, there are a few more on my flicker. i tried to make a signature with a link but its not showing up so ive added it to the first post above.

Your sig link works.

with reguard to the cpl. i do have a polarising filter i got when buying the camera, just wanted uv filter more to protect the lens but bought [ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nikon-D40-D60-Resolution-Fluorescent/dp/B001BZF0J4/ref=pd_cp_ce_0?pf_rd_p=136153791&pf_rd_s=center-41&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B0012NAT0A&pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_r=1AWK6S5KSCRWQ9KX2RNY"]this pack of 3.[/ame] after doing some reading i see that thses are not suitable to use with autofocus, is that correct.

Last edited:
what do you mean by not suitable with auto focus? to my knowledge, since you are using the kit lens that came with the d40, the front focusing element doesn't rotate from what i can recall, so you should be just fine. i maybe wrong, but what you could have would be a non circular polarizer (linear i believe it's called?) which will not function properly on a digital slr.