Another newbie here :)

JillianSabrina

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone :)

My name is Jillian. I'm 26 years old, born and raised in sunny South Florida (and still here). I am completely new to the world of photography and seeking advice on how to get started. I've flirted with the idea of pursuing this as a real hobby for years, and I think now is the time I finally want to get serious about it.

I've always loved the feelings that photos invoke. I've taken and printed hundreds of photos over the years, using mainly my cell phone and a silly little instant camera. I love going back to a photo and remembering the exact moment. My photos aren't professional (yet) but every single one means something to me.

Anyway, I want to begin my journey and move into DSLR territory. I don't have a camera yet, but looking to purchase one very soon. Open to suggestions :) I'm mainly interested in shooting nature and portraits. My happy place is being outdoors, and people (and their emotions) fascinate me. I hope to eventually do events, like engagement sessions, weddings, anything that celebrates people and life in general.

A little about me:
1. I'm a Pediatric ICU nurse
2. Mostly introverted
3. Avid reader
4. Lover of various genres of music
5. Windows down and music up kind of driver
6. Dog mom
7. Longboarder

Ok, I think I've rambled enough :) Hope to learn a lot from this site!

Welcome. Lots of reading here if that's what you like to do. Suggest you start off slow and work your way up the ladder. Now budget comes to mind. You can start with entry level kits, or you can start with advanced camera and lenses, or you can start with serious semi pro caliber gear. Or just get into pro gear.