Any ideas to keep me shooting every day?

OfMikeandMen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey,

Again, I am new to photography. However, I am limited to what I can shoot. I recently moved to Austin, Texas, and I don't have very many friends, yet. I want to get involved in portraiture and wedding photography (eventually), but I also enjoy any shot that is aesthetically pleasing, and urban photos. I live in northern Austin, so my ability for more interesting urban photos requires travel, which, often times isn't possible right now (with my job flexibility). Again, my end goal, at least for now, is portraiture and wedding photography. Apart from my girlfriend, I don't have very many subjects. I am just looking for anything to keep me shooting every day. Some interesting ideas, or something. Any suggestions would be great. I just don't want to burnout because I don't know what to shoot. I think this is largely because I'm still learning a lot of technical stuff with the camera, so I haven't really learned what I'm interested in shooting. I like doing photos of my girlfriend, and I've done some self-portaits. Anyways, before I keep ranting, I'll stop myself. Any help would be nice. Thanks.

If you can't find things to photograph it's only because you aren't seeing what is in front of you. Look around yourself. In every room of every building, in every tree and bush there is a photograph that you aren't seeing.

I sometimes go weeks without taking a photo. The worst thing you can do is go out when you are not feeling it.

I couldn't agree more with Scott. Maybe since you aren't able to take wedding photos right now, look into nature. Everything around you could be photographed in some way! Animals, friends, trees, houses, cars, and the list goes on. :)

IMO, taking pictures of things you don't want to take pictures of is not going to help you improve. Unless you are still figuring out how aperture works, and that sort of thing.