Anyone learnt themselves?

KarynAnn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi , I'm karyn I'm new to all this , been interested in photography for years just never had chance to look into it&see what the best equipment I can get,any suggestions? I don't really want to do courses on photography just want to get a few bits an bots, read up on info&try an get to grips with using the camera , any help would be grateful thank you !

A lot of us here are self taught! I shoot Canon, but honestly it's because a good deal came up when I wanted a camera. Nikon and Sony are also popular brands. It comes down to how much you want to spend (and what you'll be using it for).

Thank you v.much I'm looking around for a camera , not sure where the best place to get one from yet tho, seen a few nice ones. Just going take a few photos outside to start me off my fiancé has dogs and wants photos of them , I thought it might help me to start off is this a good idea?

The best place to get a camera is probably the camera store. ^^

Anyways, as jowens said many of us are self-taught. I myself haven't had a single course in photography or the likes, I learnt everything through practice and the internet (this forum helps loads for example).

There is no single answer when it comes to best equipment. Each and every brand has its own advantages and perks.
The more popular ones are Nikon and Canon. Sony is also a rather popular brand, although I have no knowledge of that brand at all.
I myself shoot Nikon, the main reasons for this being that I liked the menus more and most of the photographers I know in real life shoot Nikon. This has the added advantage that we can easily borrow each others lenses.
I suggest you go to your local camera store and ask if you can hold a few camera's just to feel them. Pick the one that feels nicest, you're going to be holding it a lot.