Aperture Range

downcrash

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I am a beginner photographer. I'm using a Pentax K2000 with a MC Pentax-DA 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 AL Lens.

So, according to that the range of the lens would be f/3.5 - f/5.6?

I'm wondering why, when I adjust the f stop on the camera body, I can range the settings from 4.0 - 38?

I know that I'm failing to understand something here. Can anyone help explain this to me? Thanks!

downcrash said:
Hi all,

I am a beginner photographer. I'm using a Pentax K2000 with a MC Pentax-DA 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 AL Lens.

So, according to that the range of the lens would be f/3.5 - f/5.6?

I'm wondering why, when I adjust the f stop on the camera body, I can range the settings from 4.0 - 38?

I know that I'm failing to understand something here. Can anyone help explain this to me? Thanks!

3.5-5.6 is telling you the widest the lens can open to. At the lenses widest focal length (18mm)you will range from about 3.5-22 or so. And at it's longest (55mm)you will get a range from f/5.6 all the way into the 30's

I understand that to mean that the maximum aperture is f/3.5 at 18mm and 5.6 at 55mm.

EDIT: Looks like someone beat me to it.

Wow. I get it. Thank you so much.

While I'm asking questions... I've noticed some lenses provide a ranged number for aperture, while other just list one number. For example:

Canon EF Zoom lens - 24 mm - 105 mm - F/4.0

as opposed to

Pentax-DA 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6

Is there a reason why some cameras provide a ranged number and others don't?

downcrash said:
While I'm asking questions... I've noticed some lenses provide a ranged number for aperture, while other just list one number. For example:

Canon EF Zoom lens - 24 mm - 105 mm - F/4.0

as opposed to

Pentax-DA 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6

Is there a reason why some cameras provide a ranged number and others don't?