Are color filters interchangeable?

Grandpa Ron

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a Canon T6 rebel. I would like to try some color filters.

Filters are sold by diameter but will a 58 mm filter fit Canon, Nikon or any other 58 mm lens?

Do they all use standard diameters and thread pitch?

I've never used a color filter before but I have circular polarizing filters on most of my lenses and I only order them based on the diameter. I've not seen any options for different thread pitch.

its all standard.

58mm is 58mm is 58mm.

by using a system similar to cokin, you can use the same holder for multiple lens diameters.

For screw in filters, buy the diameter for your largest lens (mine is 77mm). Then buy (cheap) step-up rings so you can use the same filters for all your lenses.
Color filters can be found for pennies on the used market. In fact, I have several from buying used cameras and accessories. Let me know what color you're looking for. I might have one I can send you for free.

Last edited:
A 58mm filter will fit any lens that uses 58mm threads. They're all standard pitch.

I was a bit confused, because some of the filters on Ebay indicate they are Nikon compatible, others say Canon while others do not specify.

Yes, thread pitch on screw in filters is all the same.

zulu42 has good advise regarding using cheap step down rings but there is a caveat. Depending on the millimetre spread of your filter requirements, lens hoods may not be usable when a 58mm filter is mounted to a 49mm step down ring for that lens.

Screw in filters are usable on any camera, regardless of brand. A 58 mm filter Will fit any brand of lens. The pitch of the threads has been standardized for decades now.