Are discounts not a thing in photography?

Tiller

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I also play guitar, and almost all websites regularly have 10% or 15% off. 20% is not unheard of. But photography websites don't seem to have the same deals going on. I'm a beginner, so I'm not sure, but is this generally the case? And if so, why not?

Tyler

Is it really a discount if it's always on "sale"?

Margins are much slimmer on cameras and lenses. They make their money on stuff like branded lens caps, bags, accessories etc..

Guitars are inexpensive materials-wise whereas cameras are not.

Are you referring to camera equipment sales or camera service sales ?

If the former I see deals all the time on loads of websites, heck the manufacturers have big rebate sales as well.

For services its an individual thing, but remember that photography as a service is often more locally sourced and thus the internet might not be the primary sales pusher for the photographer - haggling and such might also be common.

And yes if a shop always has 10% off its not 10% off its just a 10% higher starting price ;)
Also note that many (most) manufacturers set a high recommended price and then most shops now have discounts from that - heck in the model gaming world almost every product line is 10% cheaper in shops than if you buy direct from the manufacturers.

And yes if a shop always has 10% off its not 10% off its just a 10% higher starting price ;)
Also note that many (most) manufacturers set a high recommended price and then most shops now have discounts from that - heck in the model gaming world almost every product line is 10% cheaper in shops than if you buy direct from the manufacturers.

A $100 Dollar pair of Oakleys cost $5 to make.