Are photos taken of TV screens copyrighted?

Phillygirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I took photos yesterday of a city event, and want to use them with an article I'm writing. Can I do this without breaking copyright laws? I would appreciate an answer from anyone ASAP. Thanks loads. (pun intended. :lol: )

Well, I wouldn't do it. I'm not a lawyer, but you are taking pictures of something that someone else video taped, which I believe holds the same copyright as photographs. Those who video / photo something own it.

I took photos yesterday of a city event, and want to use them with an article I'm writing. Can I do this without breaking copyright laws? I would appreciate an answer from anyone ASAP. Thanks loads. (pun intended. :lol: )

No.

Violating copyright is defined as copying a work or a substantial part of a work which is also defined as 10%. A still frame does not constitute a substantial part of a video, so you do not seem to be violating the rights of the video producer.

skieur

Violating copyright is defined as copying a work or a substantial part of a work which is also defined as 10%. A still frame does not constitute a substantial part of a video, so you do not seem to be violating the rights of the video producer.

skieur

Not in the US it's not. Broadcasts may not be copied whole or in part with out the expressed permission of the owner of the property. One frame is in part.

Not in the US it's not. Broadcasts may not be copied whole or in part with out the expressed permission of the owner of the property. One frame is in part.

In the US, violation of copyright is defined in the same manner. A substantial part and therefore a violation is 10%. Don't confuse warnings on broadcasts as being the law. They are NOT.

skieur