Art therapy

The wife!

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
FB_IMG_1511966294455.jpg

Photography is not always about focus, subject, apature, and lighting. For me photography is art. It won't be liked or speak to everyone the same way but it does not mean its wrong or bad work.
This particular photo has come to mean/speak a lot to me and many people I work with.
When people are in a dark place and the darkness is creeping in around you it is hard to see the light. The light is always there you just need to look up for it. When you feel like there is no way out there is a door or a window you just need to look for it. When you can't excape your thoughts or the past there is always a fresh clean start like a freshly fallen snow. There is a clean new canvise. You just need to look for it.
As a massage therapist I work with a lot of people dealing with strees, depression and anxiety. So I have it hanging in my therapy room. I have had discussions with cliens sharing this photo. I may make it a postcard with what I just wrote above and make it avalabe for people who need it.

Photography is so much more than tecnical things, it is art. I hope everyone can have a photo that speeks so deeply to them. Perfection is something I don't see as achevable, its somthing you can strive for but like a building Jeep there is always somthing to improve on.

Do you have a photo that means a lot to you? Let's see them.

Last edited:

Self Portrait
by Charlie Wrenn, on Flickr

{Edit: I didn't put the story}
There's a lot going on in here. This was taken as part of the first film class I took (2009); Nikon F90s, 50mm f/1.8, Kodak Tri-X. I don't recall the aperture and shutter speed. Lighting is from a swing-arm desk lamp and a tungsten light bulb (low wattage) above.