Asked to shoot families for church photo directory

Rocketman1978

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Today my pastor asked me to shoot each family in our church for the annual photo directory, this is not a paying gig but simply a favor, I have no intentions of ever doing a paying gig as this is merely a hobby for me. The previous individual that shot for the directory used full auto, a wrinkled up cloth backdrop, on camera flash (had some pretty blown out faces), missed focus something terrible and used no post processing whatsoever. Basically the bar hasn't been set very high is what I'm saying so I'm pretty confident in my abilities to please, lol. I've got a couple of weeks until the first round of families so I'm piecing together how I want to go about this.

So my equipment list is below, I'm not very experienced at ALL using flash so it pretty much sits in my bag at the moment, leaving me with natural light photography. I'm not opposed to using it, it would simply take some practice in the room I decide upon (which I would do anyway). Classrooms in the church are very well lit, auditorium lighting is pretty terrible and foyer is so-so. Classrooms are pretty small (approx 15x15, 15x20) so shooting at the long end of my 70-200 is out, my intentions are to use my prime, its good and sharp so I shouldn't have an issue there.

I guess my biggest concerns are posing and backdrop. I've only done posed photography a time or two (I mostly shoot candid) and in my opinion it didn't turn out too bad, though the max posed was 4 and families at the church range from 1-8. The previous person shot from the waist up.