Aspiring photographer: Help me get started!

bmilcs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,

My name's Bryan and I am a photographer wanna-be. I've done as much as I can with my iPhone 4s and my cardboard lightbox :). With a budget of $300, I would love suggestions with purchasing my first real camera - one where I can adjust aperture, shutter speed, and the like.

Currently, I use my iPhone 4s and my mother's Nikon which allows you to change light exposure, but nothing else (aperture, depth of field, etc --- the good stuff). I have limited to zero knowledge on the subject.

Help me find a solid starter camera - one that will allow me to take great photos / better than what I currently take, and for under $300. I'll worry about fancy lenses, etc. later.

Here are some examples of my exemplary (LOL) work:

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

I am a complete noob and haven't had a chance to read through the forums for suggestions. If you could point me in the right direction, I'd be very grateful.

Bryan, welcome to the site. This is a great place to learn. The photo's are not showing up for me, so I cannot see your work.

As for your budget of $300. This is somewhat low if you are looking at working with dslr camera's. That being said, the fancy lenses have as much (if not more) to do with taking good quality pictures as the camera body does.

Most people on here will probably steer you to the Nikon 3100 and a kit lens, and there is nothing wrong with them. Look at the used section at B&H Photo or Adorama to see if there is any in your price range. Also, look for used gear at your local photo shops if you have any.

As for your budget of $300. This is somewhat low if you are looking at working with dslr camera's. That being said, the fancy lenses have as much (if not more) to do with taking good quality pictures as the camera body does.
After a point: I agree; but I don't assert that's universal.