Aviation photography - post-processing troubles

kydenW

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there, I'm new to this forum and would appreciate any advice I could get on post-processing. I'm an amateur aviation photographer and have used the Jetphotos forum however the users there tend to be quite blunt and still being new to this it's not particularly helpful. As an example I'd hope to learn from, I have two images attached - a raw image and one I've 'attempted' to process. Any feedback/advice/tips would be appreciated.
Thanks!
- Kyden :)

Screenshot 2024-01-03 at 11.45.58.png

P1090342_01.jpg

Howdy and welcome, Kyden! What software are you using for PP? The PP'd image looks nice, but rather tightly cropped, the jet needs room to fly. The lighting on the aircraft looks good, given that it looks to be a fairly overcast day, but the PP has yellowed the whites a little.

Hi Jeff, thanks for your reply. The image shown was edited in Darktable; I've been experimenting with Affinity Photo for the last couple of days, which is new to me.

It's best to leave a bit of empty space in front of the aircraft to visually give it 'someplace to fly to'. This isn't a post issue, it goes back to the image capture. Don't try to frame things perfectly in-camera, shoot a bit wide and give yourself the ability to crop in post.

Leaving room in the direction of motion is a great suggestion. Looking at the first image, the fuselage looks white, but more warm in the processed image. You probably want it to stay white as it‘s expected. I also recommend masking the green background and darken it a bit, and / or desaturate green, to make your subject pop a bit more. You might also try softening the green background. I would brighten the plane a bit more as well. You might be able to make the sky a bit more dramatic by masking, moving the sky towards blue and increasing contrast While playing with exposure.